Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are respectfully cautioned that this website contains images of people who have passed away.


A dazzling new poetry collection from award-winning poet Judith Bishop, a conclusion to her trilogy focused on time.

(Trade paperback)
Available. Dispatched 2-3 business days

Worlds ring softly
with the blows of the past

Circadia is a shattering testament to the fragility of life. With visionary imagination and rapt musicality, this concluding volume in Bishop’s award-winning trilogy on time sings in the mind long after reading.

Judith Bishop
Photo by Rebecca Taylor Photography

Judith Bishop

Judith Bishop was born in Melbourne, Australia, and has lived in the United States and Britain. Her poems have won a number of awards, including the Peter Porter Poetry Prize, an Academy of American Poets University prize and a Marten Bequest Travelling Scholarship. She is the author of two collections: Event (Salt Publishing, 2007), which won the FAW Anne Elder award and was shortlisted for the CJ Dennis Prize, the Judith Wright Calanthe Award, and the ASAL Mary Gilmore Prize; and Interval (UQP, 2018), which won the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards – Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry and was a finalist in the 2018 Melbourne Prize for Literature – Best Writing Award. She is also the author of three chapbooks: Alice Missing in Wonderland and other poems (Picaro Press, 2008), Aftermarks (Vagabond Press, 2012) and Here Hear (Gazebo Books, 2022). Her translations from French (Philippe Jaccottet, Gérard Macé) have been published in Australian and international journals. She holds a PhD in Linguistics from the University of Melbourne, an MFA in Writing from Washington University in St. Louis, and an MPhil in European Literature from the University of Cambridge. She lives with her family in Melbourne.