Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are respectfully cautioned that this website contains images of people who have passed away.

About us

UQP is one of Australia’s leading publishing houses. Established in 1948 as a wholly owned subsidiary of The University of Queensland, UQP has consistently produced culturally significant works across genres such as fiction, non-fiction and poetry, as well as children's and young adult books.

UQP is known for publishing literary works, poetry and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander stories. We create books that enrich and inspire readers and make a major contribution to the fabric of arts and literature in Australia and the world. We proudly connect artists, readers, writers and arts organisations and passionately advocate for the value of books to the human experience. UQP is also Queensland’s only major publishing house with domestic and international distribution.


UQP has launched the careers of some of Australia’s most highly respected authors, from Peter Carey, winner of the Booker Prize; David Malouf; Kate Grenville and Janette Turner Hospital to more recently established and award-winning authors such as Melissa Lucashenko, Tony Birch, Julie Koh and Mirandi Riwoe. We have long had the reputation of identifying new and emerging writers and shaping their careers, while investing in their stories and works. Creativity defines UQP and our commitment to the best storytelling extends to groundbreaking works of narrative and literary non-fiction such as those by Charles Massy, Matthew Condon, Megan Daley and Gabrielle Carey. These books are finely researched and written, and stimulate public debate about important issues such as literacy, the environment, mental health and justice.

UQP established the David Unaipon Award in the late 1980s and it remains the most prestigious national award for unpublished Indigenous authors. This award has established the careers of Doris Pilkington Garimara, Samuel Wagan Watson, Larissa Behrendt, Tara June Winch and Ellen van Neerven. We continue to significantly support First Nations authors in their present and future work.

Since the late 1960s, we have also been a premier publisher of the finest, award-winning Australian poetry, including Sarah Holland-Batt, winner of the Prime Minister’s Literary Award, Ali Alizadeh, John Tranter, David Brooks and dynamic, emerging poets such as Rae White, Shastra Deo and Omar Sakr. Through this list we aim to represent diverse voices and styles and showcase the work of debut poets through to venerable names such as David Malouf, who are studied on Australian English curriculums.

Our vision

Literature is an integral component of Australia’s cultural landscape and legacy. Books connect Australians from diverse backgrounds, promoting tolerance, understanding, learning and respect.

Stories are fundamental to being human. Words inspire creativity, imagination and help construct national, community and individual identities. History is understood, the present is shared and our future is shaped by stories.

Strategic objectives

  1. Transform Australians through literature
  2. Connect readers with diverse Australian stories
  3. Champion First Nations authors
  4. Deliver artistic and creative excellence
  5. Provide strong organisational leadership