Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are respectfully cautioned that this website contains images of people who have passed away.

Ellen van Neerven awarded a Sidney Myer Creative Fellowship
Posted 07.10.2021

Ellen van Neerven awarded a Sidney Myer Creative Fellowship

Huge congratulations to Ellen van Neerven, who has been awarded one of nine Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships for 2021.

First awarded in 2011, the Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships provide unrestricted grants of $160,000 tax free over two years to individual Australian artists, arts managers and thought leaders in the humanities.

The Fellowships are not tied to any specific outcome, instead, they provide an income over a two-year period, allowing each Fellow time to reflect and develop aspects of their creative practice without financial pressure. This uniquely places the Fellows and their artistic endeavours at the centre of the Fellowships.

Ellen said that receiving the Fellowship is life changing:

’I find it difficult to juggle immersive writing projects with the freelance work required to keep myself financially afloat. With this support I can work and think in the long-term rather than short-term, and put my creative practice at the forefront of my output.’

To be nominated for a Fellowship, artists and thought leaders must be within seven and 15 years into their creative practice and meet two criteria: outstanding talent and exceptional professional courage. The Fellowships are open to artists and arts managers across the entire spectrum of the visual, performing, interdisciplinary, new media and literary arts.

The national Peer Review Panel for the 2021 Fellows included: Andrew Myer AM (Chair), Amos Gebhardt, Helen Marcou AM, Jeff Khan, Jo Dyer, Josh Wright and Tarun Nagesh.