Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are respectfully cautioned that this website contains images of people who have passed away.

Free Logic

Winner of the 2012 Thomas Shapcott Award.

Available. Dispatched 2-3 business days

Free Logic is a collection of poems about love, logic, sin, gender, and imaginary animals. Transmuting techniques, forms and figures as she moves with enviable ease from themes of love through landscape to logic, Rachael Briggs evinces a relentless inventiveness and intelligence.

Structured as eight sets of inventive poems, from ‘Twelve Love Stories’ which feature different kinds of love to ‘Solve for X and Y’ which pits characters against surreal problems to ‘Tough Luck’, a crown of sonnets which follows one narrator through a journey of unrequited love and identity discovery, this exciting new volume announces the arrival of a fresh and vital voice in Australian poetry.

Rachael Briggs
Photo by Tim Grey

Rachael Briggs

Rachael Briggs was born in 1982 in the northeastern United States and now lives in Brisbane. She holds a PhD in philosophy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and splits her time between Griffith University and the Australian National University as a philosophy research fellow.

Her suite of sonnets ‘Tough Luck’ won the 2011 Val Vallis award for unpublished poetry. Her poems have also appeared in print (Rattle,The Tower Journal) and onstage (Speedpoets, Riverbend Poetry Series, Words or Whatever).