Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are respectfully cautioned that this website contains images of people who have passed away.

Six UQP authors shortlisted for the 2022 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards
Posted 07.12.2021

Six UQP authors shortlisted for the 2022 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards

Congratulations to the six UQP authors whose books have been shortlisted for the 2022 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards:

The winners of the six main suite categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Extracts from the judges' reports:

Another Day in the Colony by Chelsea Watego

'A sophisticated yet accessible exploration of the ongoing impacts of colonialism on the lives of First Nations people everywhere... The beautiful use of language and humour throughout the work drives the reader to know more and to ask why.'

After Story by Larissa Behrendt

'This book is approachable in style and deep and rich in character and insight.'

Permafrostby SJ Norman

'The writing is full-bodied, almost crunchy. It has volume. The stories are luscious and sometimes on the uneasy edge of overwhelming. They are both light and dark, swift and penetrating. They are vivid and they linger.'

Smokehouse by Melissa Manning

'These are atmospheric, mesmerising stories by an incredibly skilled writer. They have taste, smell and memory... The stories are vivid and full of the joy and pain of living... With an innovative structure, perfectly spare prose, and great emotional weight, Smokehouse is a celebration of ordinary lives made extraordinary.'

Dropbear by Evelyn Araluen

'This is a fierce debut from Araluen... In this beautifully written and carefully constructed collection, she writes from her own embodied Black experiences offering the reader a demonstration of the power of the Black writer.'

Trigger Warning by Maria Takolander

'Maria Takolander’s fourth poetry collection shows the writer at the very peak of her form... The book is multi-layered, bolstered with incisive intellect and wit and underscored by an impressive range of tone, style and themes.'

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 3 February 2022.