Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are respectfully cautioned that this website contains images of people who have passed away.

The Dreams of the Chosen

Telepathy, technology and eight hundred years of unbroken peace. For the younger generation, life on Deucalion is utopian but maybe just a little bit too predictable.

Available. Dispatched 2-3 business days

But now, a thousand years after the settlement of the planet – and centuries after all contact was lost with Earth – an expedition, using a new and untried technology, is setting out into the unknown to discover what happened all those years ago on the mother-planet. What they find there will threaten their very survival and raise questions about what it means to be human and civilized.

The Dreams of the Chosen is the long-awaited final chapter in the multi-award-winning Deucalion Sequence, which started with Deucalion and was followed by its acclaimed sequel, The View from Ararat. Revisit Brian Caswell’s epic and compelling history of the future.

Brian Caswell
Photo by SBS News

Brian Caswell

Since 1989, Brian Caswell has written twenty-four books including the best-selling A Cage of Butterflies. His work has received many awards and shortlistings, including the Children’s Peace Literature Award, the Vision Australia, Young Adult Audio Book of the Year Award, the Aurealis Award for science-fiction and fantasy, the Australian Multicultural Children’s Literature Award, the Human Rights Awards, the NSW Premier’s Awards (three times), and he has been included in the prestigious International Youth Library’s ‘White Ravens’ list four times. All his published novels have been listed as Notable Books, by the Children’s Book Council of Australia. He lives on the NSW Central Coast with his wife Marlene.